Alliance Rules

Draft Rules for Season 2023/24

Who can Enter?

Events are open to Professionals, Assistant Professionals and amateurs with an active handicap at a member club or by individual membership.

Any pro must not have the same partner for more the 3 events in a season.

Member clubs are expected to encourage participation in Alliance events and are invited to make their course available for Alliance events for which an agreed fee will be paid.


Entry to an event is by way of the entry form that can be found on the HHDGA website or in circumstances where this is not possible by direct application to the following email address (

Bookings for all competitions will be open to book throughout the season and places allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.   
In the case that an event should be oversubscribed, additional entries will be put on a waiting list should any spaces come free.

The Tee Sheet for each event will only become final on the evening two days prior to the event.

All regular events are better ball stableford played off 85% handicap with a maximum handicap index of 24. Entry by players above this limit may be allowed at the discretion of the committee, but those players must play off the maximum allowed handicap.

Entry Cancellation

Any competitor cancelling their entry in a competition less than 48 hours prior to the competition taking place must make all reasonable efforts to secure a replacement and notify the secretary.

If this cannot be done the secretary must be contacted as soon as possible and offered an explanation.

If the cancellation results in not being able to make up a fourball the entry fee will still be due.

Any cancellation or no show on the day of the event will result in the competitor being charged the entry fee. Failure to pay any outstanding fees will result in the player being suspended from future events until the debt is settled.

Competition Format

There will be one competition, including AM-AM and PRO-AM pairs with pros playing off scratch.

The annual Page Trophy is an individual medal competition played over 36 holes, the Page Trophy awarded for best nett score, the Colin Swain Trophy for the best Professional and the Emmie Smith Trophy for the best three-man club team.

The Roger Heap Memorial Cup is an individual medal competition played over 18 holes.

The value and number of prizes at all events will be based on the entry at each event, as will the contribution made to the host club.

Preferred lies

Preferred lies will be allowed subject to course conditions on the day. Alliance local rules are basically preferred lies on fairways and relief from aeration holes.

Competition Cancellation

If an event is cancelled it will be played the following week, if possible.

The published start times will be transferred to the new date.

Entries may be withdrawn or added.

Dress Code

If applicable, dress for any meals and prize presentation is smart casual.

Wet and/or dirty golf clothing is not permitted.

All rules & regulations of the host club must be adhered to.

Prize Presentation

There will be no formal prize presentations unless previously stated on the event information page.

Prizes will be made available to winners as soon as possible following the completion of each event.

Vouchers will be sent by email to either the player or the person who made the original entry.

Prizes will be awarded on a count-back (last 9,6,3,1)

All results will be published on our website

Orders of Merit

A Professional Order of Merit operates each season with a cash prize for the winner, appendix 5.

A Club Championship operates each season, see appendix 5.

At each event points will be awarded to professionals in order of result from first to eighth 10, 8, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1. Ties will receive equal points.

At the end of the season the professional with the highest points score (ties will be decided by most wins, seconds, etc.) will receive a cash prize and hold the Cup for one year.

The Club Championship is the total of highest score by a club in each better ball event, and the winner will hold the Cup for one year.

Updated: Wednesday 1st November 2023

Date: 19th October 2023